Weekend Dinner: Penne with Italian Sausage in Tomato Cream Sauce

I wanted to cook something a bit special for dinner one night. It was the time when my sister just came home from her new job in Eastwood City. It was sort of a congratulatory dinner for her and her new writing adventures in the advertising world. So I wanted to try a tomato cream sauce for my favorite kind of pasta: penne.

Cook the penne until al dente, and while doing that, I prepared the sauce. Slice about 3 pieces of Italian sausage and fry in some olive oil. When the sausages have browned a little, remove excess oil and saute garlic and onions. Add some dried basil, button mushrooms and 1 whole can of crushed tomatoes. Allow to simmer and add some water if it gets too thick. Finally, add 1 pack of all purpose cream and good cheddar cheese. Adjust the seasoning and serve with the penne.

 

I had a lot of sauce left so the next day, I added a bit more sausages to the sauce, boiled some spaghetti, grated more cheese on top and popped it under the broiler for about 10 minutes.

Until the next kitchen invasion. =)

