Kare-kare: My comfort food

One of the best Filipino dishes for me is Kare-kare. It is also the dish that reminds me most of home for my mom makes the best kare-kare you will ever taste. It is also my most requested dish from my friends during celebrations.

kare-kare

kare-kare

For our version, we boil the oxtail (pork legs or tripe) until tender. Then saute garlic, onions and one chopped sili then add the meat (we like our kare-kare a bit on the spicy side, but you can omit the sili). Allow the meat to saute, then add patis. Next, add the broth, some atchuete water for color and simmer. Then add the vegetables, we like to put sitaw, talong, puso ng saging, kalabasa and pechay. Allow all the vegetables to cook then add the peanuts. We don’t use the ready mixes, peanut butter even. What we do is dry-roast raw peanuts, and use the mortar and pestle to grind it up. To thicken the sauce, uncooked rice is also roasted and ground. Serve with alamang sauteed in garlic, onions, tomatoes and sili. My mom puts a bit of sugar in the alamang to counter some of the saltiness.

kare-kare

When I was cooking for my friends, I didn’t have the time to make the sauce from scratch so I used the ready mix and peanut butter instead. It saves you the hassle but it also tasted great!

But nothing beats a dish that was made with love.

